Passing Trains

I felt your love

tug at my heart,

felt something start,

as our trains passed.

You flying north,

a fleeting blur,

I hurtled south,

equally fast.

Our full eyes locked,

our lost lives touched,

then off we went,

flying apart.

This modern love

swipes by a blur,

a brief reprieve

that makes us stir.

A moment’s glance-

a subtle dance-

a hint of hope-

a waning blast.

But your life tugged

at my aching soul,

as our trains passed

you filled the hole.

Then just as quick

the distance dashed

my desperate dreams

were empty glass.

And in the window,

in dark of night,

my reflection stared-

my only sight.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

