I wear out this path with each day I travel, shuffling between work and home. Trudging along, kicking the gravel, yearning for someplace to roam.

Some days I’m weary, my eyes on the ground, wishing there was something more- a broken spirit, a suffering sound, wondering why life’s such a bore.

Lift up my eyes to see my surroundings, help me to see all that has changed. Each passing day brings a newness of life; lift up my gaze, help me see-  all beauty around me.

New flowers bloom with every new season, blades of grass striving for skies, clouds rolling in or storms departing. All if I open my eyes, life offers me a surprise.

I wear out this path with each day I travel, often I’m dragging my feet. My eyes are cast down and my soul’s unraveled- life’s stuck on constant repeat.

Some days I walk, my lost eyes averted from others who pass by my side. My mind stuck on thoughts rarely converted- when will I be satisfied?

Lift up my eyes to see my surroundings, help me to see who has changed. Each passing day brings a newness of life; lift up my gaze, help me see- all people around me.

People are smiling, offering friendship; sad faces too, needing some love, others are out there, surrounded by silence. All if I open my eyes, life offers me a surprise.

I wear out this path with each day I travel, but still there is so much to see. New life is calling with every new morning, beckoning me to be free.

Some days I strut, praising sweet sunrise, seeing bright light flush the earth. Another day comes, replacing night’s cries, revealing each day’s unique worth.

Lift up my eyes to see my surroundings, help me to see life has changed. Out of the dust a new world arises; lift up my gaze, help me see- a new world around me.

New paths diverging, offering freedom, leading to places that I’ve never been. The world’s open wide with new paths unfolding. All if I open my eyes, life offers me a surprise. If only I open my eyes.


Leave a Reply

